Warne, Lara, McGrath, Inzamam sign up Indian Cricket League(ICL)

May 13th, 2007

The cricket series, Indian Cricket League (ICL) was announced in April by Subash Chandra, Essel Group – the owner of Zee TV who will broadcast the tournament.The inaugural tournament, featuring a series of big name stars at the end of their careers in the first class game, will start shortly after the first-ever ICC Twenty20 World Championship, taking place in South Africa in September.

According the latest issue of Spin magazine, Shane Warne and Brian Lara have signed up for the breakway Twenty20 compeition (ICL) taking place in India this october and are joined by Inzamam-ul Haq and Shane Warne with many more big names to follow. Zee have their eye on a series of other Legends who have been recently retired or are on the verge.  

The India Cricket League will offer prize money of US $1 million for the winner. ICL is slated to develop in forthcoming years, with more teams and different formats, including a 50-over version.

Update 1 : Zee Sports, who are behind the newly-mooted Indian Cricket League (ICL), has denied the report circulating in media that Brian Lara, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Inzamam-ul-Haq, were signed up for the series.

Update 2 : Former India captain Kapil Dev will head the Executive Board of the breakaway Indian Cricket League (ICL), it was announced in Mumbai on Monday.The other members of the Board include former stumper and ex-chief selector Kiran More, former England captain Tony Greg and Australian cricketer-turned-commentator Dean Jones.

Leave Comments

Subscription for Comments


  1. mail cricket updates as well as football


Recent Posts


© 2002-2014 sheetudeep.com
RankingBlogs.com :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: counter