Indian team for 2010 World Cup Twenty20

March 26th, 2010

The World Twenty20 starts on April 30, five days after the end of the IPL season. India is grouped with South Africa and Afghanistan team who is in Group C. India will play their first match on 1st of May against Afghanistan, while the second match is against South Africa on 2nd of May 2010.

India’s 15-man squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk) Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Piyush Chawla, Vinay Kumar, Rohit Sharma.

Karnataka fast bowler Vinay Kumar is the only new face in this year’s twenty20 team, while leg spinner Piyush Chawla returns to the  national side after nearly two years.

There were injury concerns surrounding fast bowler Ashish Nehra and Gautam Gambhir but Kris Srikkanth, the chairman of national selection committee, said:
All players had sent in their fitness certificates, and that there were no fitness worries in the squad.

Vinay Kumar edged out Ishant Sharma and  Sreesanth, who were both part of India’s last Twenty20 squad.

Dinesh Karthik is included as second wicketkeeper in the team. M.S.Dhoni will lead the team while Virendra Sehwag will be his deputy. Bowling will be led by Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar and Harbhajan Singh.

All set, now fingers crossed and hope for the best! Let’s wish to see Twenty20 World cup in India.

Leave Comments

Subscription for Comments



Recent Posts


© 2002-2014 :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: counter