ICC Cricket Rule Changes – Free Hit for No Ball

June 29th, 2007

Cricket’s bias towards batsmen increased with ICC approval to “Free Hit for No Ball” which empowers a batsman to go for a free-hit without fearing a dismissal in the delivery following a front-foot no-ball. The rule has already been implemented in Twenty20 cricket.

The International Cricket Council has approved a number of changes to the playing condition in today’s annual meeting. The highlights of the changes are :

  1. Free Hit for No Ball
  2. Additional fielder outside the circle during Power Play in ODI
  3. Mandatory ball change after 35 overs in ODI
  4. Increase in minimum boundary size
  5. Number of overs will be reduced proportionately in interrupted ODI match

The only objection to the “Free Hit for No Ball” rule being implemented in ODI was from BCCI; Bangladesh too argued upto some extent but others were in the favour of this rule. England, South Africa and Australia have already implemented this rule in their domestic cricket. This rule would come into effect from 1st October 2007.

While BCCI agreed to the rule of additional fielder to allowed outside the circle during second or third Power Play but were reluctant for ball change after 35 overs. Ultimately they had to go with the majority.

The suggestion that boundary lines be increased to 90 yards wherever possible was okayed with the condition that it would not effect existing grounds and would only be effective in new stadiums.

These rules would be implemented in the next season in India.

Rejected Proposed Change

The committee rejected a suggestion that the batting side be allowed to select one of the Powerplays to their advantage.





Leave Comments

Subscription for Comments

 

  1. Is there any chance of stamping out for a batsman when free hit is given….????? plz…..inform me….thanxxxxxxx

  2. the ball is going very height to batsman, but the batsman clicked the ball. he is out or not

  3. Is there any chance of stamping out for a batsman when free hit is given….????? plz…..inform me….thanxxxxxxx

  4. Is there any chance of stamping out for a batsman when free hit is given….?????

  5. icc could introduce new laws.the price money of the team should be incresed

  6. I LIKE TO PLAY CRICKET,I WILL BE A CRICKET PLAYER IN MY LIFE

  7. I WANT TO KNOW WHEN THE BOLL IS FREE HIT AND THE BOWLER BOLD THE BATSMAN THEN BOLL REFLECT OUTHER WAY AND BATSMANS RUN TWO RUN SO IS IT CALL RUN OR NO RUN ??????????
    IT HAPPEND MY TOWN PADRAUNA DISS.(KUSHINAGAR) U.P. INDIA

  8. Stumping out: No….in free hit…stumping out is not allowed only run out is allowed. thanks

  9. when a batsman have a free hit the ball will count or not during the free hit playing.

  10. free hit ball stumping out or notout

  11. when a batsman bold on free hit.ball goes to other side.can bats man take run

  12. as we know that In the event of a no ball for bowler overstepping, a free hit is allowed. in a free hit, the batsman will not be out by any means except by run out.
    if batsman is stumped out .what will happen .
    what is difference between stump out and run out.

  13. Stumping out or not out on free hit ?

Videos



Recent Posts







Recipes




© 2002-2014 sheetudeep.com
RankingBlogs.com :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: counter