Winners of 56th Idea Filmfare Awards 2010

January 30th, 2011

The red carpet was laid out, stage was set and the starry night is finally here… the shiniest of Bollywood stars head towards Yashraj Studios for the most awaited Filmfare Awards. Though the night happened on 29th January, but it will be telecast on Sony on 6th February. Don’t miss it…!

Like every year, 56th Idea Filmfare Awards night was in full swing with all incredible performances, gorgeous looking ladies in their most expensive and ravishing outfits. Our male actors were also looking great!

The 56th Idea Filmfare Awards draws to a close with ‘Udaan’ making a clean sweep taking home the 7 Filmfare Awards including Best Supporting Actor (Male), Best Film (Critics), Best Story, Cinematography, Screenplay, Best Background Music and Best Sound Design Award. While SRK starrer My Name is Khan snapped up the most popular awards-Best Director, Best Actor (Male), Best Actor (Female), Arbaz’s Dabangg won five awards as well.

Winners of Popular Filmfare 2011:

Best Actor: Shah Rukh Khan for “My name is Khan”. Accepting the award from gorgeous Rekha, The charming actor says, "I want to take this award for my daughter. I wanted to make her wear a red gown and walk in with me on the red carpet. But she’s unwell".
Best Actress: Kajol for ‘My Name is Khan’.
Best Film: ‘Dabangg’. Arbaaz Khan and Malaika Arora Khan take the award.
Best Director Award: Karan Johar for My Name is Khan. After ‘Kuch Kuch Hota Hai’ it took 12 yrs. for Karan Johar to win another Filmfare trophy.
Best Debut Director: Manish Sharma for Band Baajaa Baaraat
Best Debut Actor (Male): Ranveer Singh for Band Baajaa Baaraat
Best Debut Actor (Female): Sonakshi Sinha for Dabangg
Best Supporting Actor (Male): Ronit Roy for ‘Udaan’
Best Supporting Actor (Female): Kareena Kapoor for ‘We Are Family’.


Best Actor (Critics): Rishi Kapoor for ‘Do Dooni Chaar’
Best Actress (Critics): Vidya Balan for ‘Ishqiya’
Best Film (Critics): Vikramaditya Motwane and Sanjay Singh for ‘Udaan’

Best Scene of the Year Award: Golmaal 3

SPECIAL AWARDS to Amitabh Bachchan and Madhuri Dixit
Shah Rukh Khan and Yash Chopra present Amitabh Bachchan an award for completing 40 years in the film industry. Yash Chopra also adds, "Amitabh Bachchan is the Best Actor in the world".

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan presents Madhuri Dixit Nene an award for completing 25 years in the film industry. Madhuri recalls her wonderful journey over the years in the film industry and thanks each and everyone from her directors, husband, kids, mom, dad and secretary Rikku Rakesh Nath who’s been with her for the last 25 years.


Prabodh Chandra Dey popularly known in Bollywood as Manna Dey was felicitated with one of the most prestigious award of the night – the Lifetime Achievement award. This is his second Filmfare trophy. He won his first Filmfare Award in 1970 for singing the song ‘Ae Bhai Zara Dekh Ke Chalo’ from Mera Naam Joker.

The 90 year old singer Manna Dey couldn’t attend the function and so Vidya Balan went to his house to present him the award. It can be recalled that Manna Dey has recorded more than 3500 songs over the course of his career. The Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri in 1971, the Padma Bhushan in 2005 and the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in 2009.


Best Music Composer: Sajid Wajid won the Best Music Composer Award for Dabangg. Speaking about it Sajid says, "This is our first Filmfare trophy and we are on top of the world. We knew from before that we were bagging all the awards this year. We have only one song to dedicate to our black lady: Tere Mast Mast Do Nain".

Best Song Composer: Dabangg and this time the award goes to Lalit Pandit who composed the song Munni Badnam Hui… "It’s taken me twenty years to win this award. AR Rahman always won it from under our nose. A lot of effort has gone into this. It has inspired me to work harder", said Lalit.

Best Lyrics: Gulzar won the Best Lyrics Award for the song ‘Ibn-e-Batuta’ (Ishqiya). The veteran lyricist says, "This award is special to me because it’s a Filmfare Award". Regarding what inspired him while penning these lines Gulzar says, "Well, it’s in my hormones. Dil abhi bhi baccha hai. So I didn’t have to seek inspiration from anywhere else."

Most Promising Talent in Music: Sneha Khanwalkar for ‘Love Sex aur Dhokha’.

Best Playback Singer (Male): Rahat Fateh Ali Khan won Best Playback Singer (Male) for ‘Dil Toh Bachcha Hai Ji’ (Ishqiya)

Best Playback Singer (Female): Best Playback Singer (Female) Award was shared between Mamta Sharma for ‘Munni Badnaam Hui’ (Dabangg) and Sunidhi Chauhan for ‘Sheila Ki Jawani’ (Tees Maar Khan).


Best Choreography: Farah Khan for ‘Sheila Ki Jawani’ from Tees Maar Khan. Farah says, "Thank God that Udaan is not nominated in the Best Choreography section. I am sure I would have lost to them." She dedicated the award to her triplets. "Today was their sports day," she revealed.
Best Dialogue: Habib Faisal for Do Dooni Chaar
Best Screenplay: Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane for Udaan
Best Story: Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane for Udaan
Best Background Music: Amit Trivedi for Udaan. Amit says, "I am very happy that I won this award for Udaan. I didn’t even know that I was nominated. Then I realized I have not one but two – Udaan and Aisha. I am happy that I won it for Udaan as it is a small film and I wasn’t even expecting an award for it. There were big competitors in the same league so I am glad."
Best Action Director: Vijayan Master for Dabbang
Best Cinematography: Mahendra Shetty for Udaan
Best Action Sequence: Vijayan Master for Dabbang
Best Editing Award: Namrata Rao for ‘Love Sex aur Dhoka’.
Best Production Design Award: Mukund Gupta for ‘Do Dooni Chaar’.
Best Sound Design Award: Best Sound Design Award is shared by Pritam Das for ‘Love Sex Aur Dhoka’ and Kunal Sharma for ‘Udaan’.
Best Costume Design Award: The first Award of the night has been declared. Varsha and Shilpa have won the Best Costume Design Award for the film Do Dooni Chaar.


SRK and Madhuri mesmerise the audience, Madhuri Dixit dressed in a baby pink lehanga choli emerges from a beautiful set filled with fancy smoke to create an ethereal ambience. Shah Rukh Khan in a black pathani dress is singing songs in praise of Madhuri from ‘Main Agar Kahu’ (Om Shanti Om), ‘Tujh Main Rab Dikhta Hai’ (Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi), ‘Tere Naina Tere Naina Re’ (My Name is Khan) and ‘Arey Re Arey Yeh Kya Huwa’ (Dil To Pagal Hai). Their chemistry is simply superb!

Salman vs Shah Rukh

Imran Khan and Ranbir Kapoor have a hilarious act. While Imran plays Hrithik Roshan from Guzaarish, Ranbir becomes Aishwarya Rai Bachchan complete with a big flower in his hair and a long red ghagra kind of skirt. After spoofing Guzaarish, Imran Khan and Ranbir Kapoor spoofed Dabangg and My Name Is Khan where Imran plays Salman and Ranbir plays Shah Rukh. You can’t miss this one!

Leave Comments

Subscription for Comments



Recent Posts


© 2002-2014 :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: counter