53rd National Film Awards announced

August 7th, 2007

After nearly two years of controversies the 53rd National Film Awards were declared on Tuesday.The prestigious awards ran into controversy last year when Kolkata-based film critic Shyamli Banerjee filed a petition in the Delhi High Court levelling charges of corruption and fixing in deciding the 53rd National Film Awards.

The Annual National Film Awards, initiated by the Directorate of Film Festivals in India to recognise films of merit produced or co-produced in the previous year in the country, and their technicians on and off the screen.

“Kaalpurush”, the Bengali film directed by Budhadeb Dasgupta, has been declared the Best Feature Film whereas the Bollywood movie ‘Rang De Basanti’ (Hindi), directed by Rakesh Omprakash Mehra has been declared as the Best popular film.   The award for the Best Direction went to Rahul Dholakia for the film ‘Parzania’.

Other Awards are :

Best Actor Award – Amitabh Bachchan (Black)
Best Actress Award – Sarika (Parzania)
Best Male Playback Singer – Naresh Iyer (Rang De Basanti)   
Best Female Playback singer – Shreya Ghoshal (Paheli)

The Best Feaure Film in different languagues are :

Language Film Director
Hindi Black Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Assamese Kadam Tole Krishna Nache Suman Haripriya
Bengali Harbart Suman Mukherjee
Kannada Thaayi Baraguru Ramchandrappa
Malayalam Thanmatra Blessy
Marathi Dombivali Fast Nishikant Kamat
Oriya Kathantara Himanshu Khatua
Punjabi Baghi Sukhminder Dhanjal
Tamil Aadum Kothu T V Chandran
Telugu Bommalata Prakash Kovelamudi

Complete List of National Film Awards

Leave Comments

Subscription for Comments


  1. how to submit my entry for national film awards in non feature film category


Recent Posts


© 2002-2014 sheetudeep.com
RankingBlogs.com :: Defining Your Blogs Worth: TopSites: counter