1. Wicket put down
(a) The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed
from the top of the stumps, or a stump is struck out
of the ground by
(i) the ball.
(ii) the striker's bat, whether he is holding it or
has let go of it.
(iii) the striker's person or by any part of his clothing
or equipment becoming detached from his person.
(iii) a fielder, with his hand or arm, providing that
the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in
the hand of the arm so used. The wicket is also put
down if a fielder pulls a stump out of the ground in
the same manner.
(b) The disturbance of a bail, whether temporary or
not, shall not constitute its complete removal from
the top of the stumps, but if a bail in falling lodges
between two of the stumps this shall be regarded as
2. One bail off
If one bail is off, it shall be sufficient for the purpose
of putting the wicket down to remove the remaining bail,
or to strike or pull any of the three stumps out of
the ground, in any of the ways stated in 1 above.
3. Remaking the wicket
If the wicket is broken or put down while the ball is
in play, the umpire shall not remake the wicket until
the ball is dead. See Law 23 (Dead ball). Any fielder,
(i) replace a bail or bails on top of the stumps..41
(ii) put back one or more stumps into the ground where
the wicket originally stood.
4. Dispensing with bails
If the umpires have agreed to dispense with bails, in
accordance with Law 8.5 (Dispensing with bails), the
decision as to whether the wicket has been put down
is one for the umpire concerned to decide.
(a) After a decision to play without bails, the wicket
has been put down if the umpire concerned is satisfied
that the wicket has been struck by the ball, by the
striker's bat, person, or items of his clothing or equipment
separated from his person as described in 1(a)(ii) or
1(a)(iii) above, or by a fielder with the hand holding
the ball or with the arm of the hand holding the ball.
(b) If the wicket has already been broken or put down,
(a) above shall apply to any stump or stumps still in
the ground. Any fielder may replace a stump or stumps,
in accordance with 3 above, in order to have an opportunity
of putting the wicket down.