1. Out Obstructing the field
Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully
obstructs or distracts the opposing side by word or
action. It shall be regarded as obstruction if either
batsman wilfully, and without the consent of the fielding
side, strikes the ball with his bat or person, other
than a hand not holding the bat, after the ball has
touched a fielder. See 4 below.
2. Accidental obstruction
It is for either umpire to decide whether any obstruction
or distraction is wilful or not. He shall consult the
other umpire if he has any doubt.
3. Obstructing a ball from being caught
The striker is out should wilful obstruction or distraction
by either batsman prevent a catch being made.
This shall apply even though the striker causes the
obstruction in lawfully guarding his wicket under the
provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than
4. Returning the ball to a member of the fielding
Either batsman is out under this Law if, without the
consent of the fielding side and while the ball is in
play, he uses his bat or person to return the ball to
any member of that side.
5. Runs scored
If a batsman is dismissed under this Law, runs completed
by the batsmen before the offence shall be scored, together
with the penalty for a No ball or a Wide, if applicable.
Other penalties that may be awarded to either side when
the ball is dead shall also stand. See Law 42.17(b)
If, however, the obstruction prevents a catch from being
made, runs completed by the batsmen before the offence
shall not be scored, but other penalties that may be
awarded to either side when the ball is dead shall stand.
See Law 42.17(b) (Penalty runs).